Food · Melbourne · Vegetarian Culture

Chinatown

So we’ve been shivering our way through Melbourne’s vast CBD for a couple of days now and more importantly, the Melbourne food scene. Everything we have sampled, both during this visit and the odd one off visits over the past few months, has been awesome. Food makes me very happy and the overwhelming sight of eateries on Melbournes streets make me quiver with delight and hunger. In a city like this it makes me begrudge our 3 meal a day system, I could happily chow down every few hours, sampling a new, eye-opening cuisine with each sitting. But my waist line would grow to dispise me, so I’ll stick with convention.

I’ve been pouring over meuns, scouring Zomato and reading a magnitude of articles in order to find our next great veggie meal. My mind has been boggled! There are so many places to choose from, Indian, Chinese, Mod Oz, fusion, mock meats, salad bars, tofu bars, soup bars, my list is basically endless. And I’m so happy to see that the veggie options here seem very promising.

photo-6

On Tuesday we ventured in to Chinatown, from my experience this is always a great place to start. We were on the hunt for an Asian food court. While we were in Sydney a few months ago we found several awesome Asian food courts offering such extensive ranges of food; noodles, rice, tofu dishes, veg dishes, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Malaysian, all at incredibly low prices. And this is what I had my heart set on. Unfortunately, we couldn’t find one, so we opted for a Japanese restaurant called Gyoza Gyoza. We were drawn in by their dumpling dishes, but, I’m slightly embarrassed to say, it was their $14 jugs of Asahi that kept us there.

photo-5 photo 1-4

We ordered 4 dishes plus a bowl of steamed rice to share. The Yasai Tempura, which was a selection of mixed veggies coated in batter and deep fried served with a sweet sauce; The Veggie Korokke was similar to croquette potatoes, smooth creamy mash coated in a crispy crumb, served on a bed of shredded red cabbage and a dollop of Wasabi; The sauce that accompanied the Tofu No Karage was awesome, it reminded me of a Chinese sweet and sour sauce but it had a warming chilli kick to it which went perfectly with the deep fried, crunchy-on-the-outside-soft and silky on the inside cubes of tofu. Our final dish were the Gyoza, there were two vegetarian options to choose from, we ordered the veggie and potato, known as ‘yaki’ in Japanese. Again, they were beautiful, I couldn’t fault them. And the variety of condiments they gave us to make our own dipping sauce was a really unique experience. Soya sauce, sesame seeds, rice wine vinegar, minced garlic and chilli oil. It was definitely one of the highlights as I could go as crazy as I liked with the chilli oil.

photo 3-3 photo 2-5 photo 3-2 photo 1-5 photo 2-4

I left feeling satisfied, my tongue slightly on fire, but safe in the knowledge that I’d fed my Asian food craving for another day. Everything about this restaurant was easy, fun and welcoming, from the delicate crockery, the helpful staff and fixed priced menu. The atmosphere was warm and friendly, cosy and inviting, they offer private booths towards the back which I failed to see until we were leaving, had we of sat in one of those, it truly would have been the icing on the cake.

Would I revisit? In all honesty, probably not. Although I throughly loved every minute of it, I’d much rather keep moving forward, taste new things and create new memories, this is what makes me a happy girl. For more food pics and reviews please check out Without_Cruelty on Instagram βœŒ ❀

 

Leave a Reply

