Food

Avocado Aficionado

When I was little I accidentally put my thumb through an avocado while standing in line at a supermarket. It felt rough and scratchy on the outside, icky and mushy on the inside, and the flesh was a strange milky shade of green. I hadn’t seen a fruit this colour before, I was more of an apple and pear kinda girl, it felt exotic and new and for some strange reason, a little dangerous. For many years I avoided avocados, the memory felt unsettling, I couldn’t place why, but I shunned them anyway. From time to time I would have nachos or chilli and have a big spoonful of guacamole on the side, ignoring briefly what I was consuming, and enjoying it immensely. But the texture always reminded me of that day in Sainsbury’s

photo

These days I couldn’t imagine my life without avocados. I don’t have them as often as I would like (which would be every day!) But when I do I ensure I put them to excellent use. Chopped up in salads, smashed on toast with a little olive oil and pepper or mashed in to a gorgeous guacamole with lemon juice, garlic and chilli flakes. I now find everything about avocados beautiful, their rough exterior and their silky smooth interior is so intriguing and the best part is how damn healthy and good for you they are.

My homemade chilli guacamole with some gorgeous toasted pine nuts
My homemade chilli guacamole with some gorgeous toasted pine nuts

I have been doing a bit of research in to the health benefits of avocados and the results have been staggering. From having more potassium than a banana to helping to relieve the pain caused by arthritis, avocados truly are the original superfood.

Here’s a list on why you should definitely try to incorporate the humble avocado in to your diet

Avocados are high in vitamins and nutrients, 100g provides you with: 

  • Vitamin K: 26% of the RDA.
  • Folate: 20% of the RDA.
  • Vitamin C: 17% of the RDA.
  • Potassium: 14% of the RDA.
  • Vitamin B5: 14% of the RDA.
  • Vitamin B6: 13% of the RDA.
  • Vitamin E: 10% of the RDA.

Avocados are very high in potassium

A 100g serving contains 14% of your RDA, compared to 10% in bananas. Several studies show that having a high potassium intake is linked to reduced blood pressure, a major risk factor for heart attacks, strokes and kidney failure.

Avocados are packed full of fibre

Avocados tend to be a high fibre food. Fibre can have various important benefits for weightloss, metabolic health and heathy, functioning bowels.

Avocados can help you to absorb nutrients from other foods

Studies have shown that eating avocados with other vitamin packed fruit and veggies can dramatically increase the amount of antioxidants you take in thanks to their high levels of oleic acid. Avocados help ensure vitamins such as A, D, E and K are absorbed in to your body as they require fats in order to be utilised effectively.

Avocados may help relieve the symptoms of arthritis 

Studies have shown that an extract from avocados and soya bean oils can significantly reduce the painful symptoms of arthritis which is a growing problem in the west.

 

If you need more reasons why you should start eating avocados, I suggest you check out the Worlds Healthiest Food website. It’s a great source of information and a really helpful tool!

http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php/genpage.php?tname=foodspice&dbid=5

And check out the Vegetarian Society’s website for some fantastic recipe ideas!

http://www.recipes.vegsoc.org/results.aspx?counter=0&submit2=Previous&keywords=Avocado+&andor=all&cMenu=0

Thanks for reading my blog, it makes me an incredibly happy girl! For more fun please check out Without_Cruelty on Instagram  ✌ ❀

3 thoughts on “Avocado Aficionado

    1. Hey Eleanor! That sounds awesome, the texture will work perfectly and I suspect avocados react in a similar way as tofu, soaking up flavours and taking on new characteristics. I’d love to know how it works out πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

