Animal Rights · Animals · Backpacker · Travel

Other People’s Pets

I’m in a rather enviable position at the moment. Well, I think so anyway…

I’ve been lucky enough to spend a lot of time getting to know and enjoy the company of other people’s pets. This has been wonderful and amazing and often very emotional. I, along with my boyfriend, are currently offering our services as house and pet sitters and what a crazy, unforgettable experience it has been.

Over the past eight months, 14 pets have been placed in to our kind, caring, considerate and very capable hands. At first I was a little skeptical and, to be honest, scared. I didn’t want to brake anyones precious fur babies, but I soon got the hang of things and realised that all these little animals just want one thing. To be loved. An all encompassing love that includes, warmth, shelter, food and drink, excerise, affection and the ability to acknowledge when they want/need a little bit of alone time. It’s quite easy really but with all this ease comes the most overwhelming sense of satisfaction.

Tiger, Brisbane
Tiger, Brisbane

 

Scooby, Cairns
Scooby, Cairns

Each animal has their own personality, their own quirks and idiocintracties and their own individual characters. Getting to know and understand each of these animals wants and needs has been an enjoyable learning curve. It has made me a more patient, understanding person. And I have come to the conclusion that we could all beneft from having a pet in our life.

Oscar, Geelong
Oscar, Geelong

 

Louie the sausage dog
Louie the sausage dog

At the moment we are in Blairgowie taking care of Jimmy, the most adorable Pug x Cocker Spaniel. He is an excitable, energetic little thing, with such an inquisitive face and a proud stance. Like clockwork he wakes us up each morning at 7.30. Jumps on to the bed, prods, pokes and licks until he has our full attention then promptly demands breakfast. It’s just beautiful. Kinda hazy but beautiful nonetheless.

Jimmy, Blaigowrie
Jimmy, Blairgowrie

We have also had the privilege of meeting Molly, a 6 month old whirlwind that required lots of love and affection. She was a Westie, white, fluffy and cute. She shared her home with two other animals; Harry, a labradoodle and Tom a Russian Blue. All three were a pleasure to look after for three weeks, it made me think twice about ever getting a puppy though! They are hard work!

Molly, Newport
Molly, Newport

 

Tom, Newport
Tom, Newport

Looking after 3 chickens was something I never thought I would do. But I’m glad I did! Fresh eggs each morning, welcoming clucks each time I opened the hutch, and they would run towards me and flap their wings each time I went outside. They were so intelligent and their desire for human contact was something I didn’t expect. I would definitely consider getting chooks in the future.

The chooks!
The chooks!

All of the animals we have looked after have all brought something different to our lives. Each and every one has been so unique and memorable. They have made us smile, laugh and made us so incredibly happy and have brought a lot of joy to what could have been a lonely travelling existence. For more cute animal pics please check out Without_Cruelty on Instagram and Twitter ✌ ❤

One thought on “Other People’s Pets

Leave a Reply

