Australia · Food · Vegan · Vegan Food · Vegetarian · Vegetarian Culture · Vegetarian Food

YouTube, Nicholas Sparks & Cauliflower Rice

Oh it’s Monday again, thankfully the weekend rain has stopped and once again Warners Bay has been basking in the beautiful hum of spring. Over the past few days I have lived life as a hermit due to the fear of getting washed in to Lake Macquarie, yes the weather has been that horrendous! I’m not complaining though, it’s been awesome. I’ve been rugged up in bed with endless cups of tea, I’ve watched a million and one YouTube videos and I’ve started reading a new book (The Best of Me by Nicholas Sparks. I have a life long dream of living in North Carolina and these books inspire me and make me want to make the move TODAY) I’ve also been swotting up on blogs and I found the most amazing recipe idea that I could hardly wait to attempt.

Cauliflower Rice! I’ve read about this numerous times but never really felt the urge to try it out. I eat rice all the time but lately I’ve been slightly concerned about my carb intake and I’ve been actively looking for ways of reducing it to a more healthy level. Voila cauliflower rice.

The recipe I found was on http://www.feedyourprettysoul.com a blog I read avidly. It’s always full of yummy vegan treats and healthy food options to try at home. I decided to modify both the ingredients and method slightly, just to suit my tastes and my kitchen utensils. It took under 10 minutes to prepare, it was incredibly tasty and filling and really does make a wonderful alternative to rice.

I’ve put my recipe below if you’d like to give it a shot πŸ™‚

photo

What You’ll Need : 1/2 a head of cauliflower, 1/2 a brown onion, 2 cloves of garlic, a red chilli (use as much or as little as you like) black pepper to taste.

What You’ll Need to do:

Grate the cauliflower using a standard cheese grater and leave to one side. Chop the onion, garlic and chilli in to small pieces and sautΓ© in a pan until the onions start to soften and turn yellow. This should take about 5 minutes. Then add the grated cauliflower and grind in as much pepper as you like. I love pepper so I add quite a lot. You can also add salt if you like, I’m not a salt fan so I generally avoid it. Cook for a further 3-4 minutes and serve! Perfect for Indians, Chinese, Mexican or just on its lonesome. Delicious either way

I’d love to hear your feedback if you try it out and if you too decide to make any amendments. For more great recipes please check out the ‘Recipe’ section on my blog and check out Without_Cruelty on Instagram and Twitter βœŒβ€

Leave a Reply

