Atkins · Australia · Diet · Food · Health · Low Carb · Vegetarian · Vegetarian Culture · Vegetarian Food · Weight Loss

Amazed, Astounded & Maybe Very Slightly Hungry

Eco Atkins….. Low Carb for Veggies

I was quite excited when I first learnt that the traditional Atkins diet had been tweaked to suit a plant-based lifestyle, I’ve been on a quest to lose 7-ish pounds for about 6 months now and thought that this could be the answer as I know that low carb diets are sooo popular and the results (mainly due to keto, which I am not attempting! I’m sticking to the 50-60g of carbs per day mark) are both quick and dramatic. I can now vouch for this myself as I have been on the veggie version of Atkins for a week now and have lost… 1.7kg. That’s 3.7 pounds! That’s over half of my target weight loss in only 1 week. I’m astounded and amazed and happy and maybe just very slightly hungry…..

 

images

 

I done a fair bit of research before embarking on this diet, it was really important to me to understand how and why these low carb diets work and I wanted to educate myself as much as possible before allowing myself to drastically change my eating habits. Unfortunately the internet didn’t provide me with much info regarding the Eco Atkins plan, so I under-took the task of enlightening myself on food, calories and carbohydrates. And it was very interesting. Having spent a week or so learning about the fundamentals of a traditional low carb diet, understanding macronutrients and looking into low carb foods, I was able to devise an ‘approved’ food list and a pretty extensive meal plan. Please see my previous blog post for the food list and a little bit more background info. I’ll link itΒ here πŸ™‚

So, I’m following up on my previous post and have outlined below a few of the veggie friendly, low carb meals that have seen me through the past week. Now, I’m not claiming to be a low carb expert, a dietitian, a magician, so no negativity please! Also, ‘SPOILER ALERT’ I’ve chosen to consume dairy during these weeks of dieting, sorry vegan followers, all meals can be substituted with vegan friendly produce πŸ™‚

Most of these meals are incredibly simple and do not require a recipe, (as you’ll see!) but feel free to comment below if you would like any tips or further advice.

Breakfast

image
Spinach & Cheddar Omlette

 

image
Baked Feta with a Fried Egg and a Roast Tomato

Lunch

Spinach, Green Bean, Chickpea and Feta Salad with a Boiled Egg
Spinach, Green Bean, Chickpea and Feta Salad with a Boiled Egg and Tomatoes

 

Portobello Mushroom Stuffed with Spinach and Cottage Cheese and a Portion of my beloved Broccoli
Portobello Mushroom Stuffed with Spinach and Cottage Cheese and a Portion of my beloved Broccoli

Β Dinner

Zucchini (courgette) Lasagna with 5 chips. The lasagna was totally awesome and I can't wait to make it again! Ill post the recipe soon. Promise!
Zucchini (courgette) Lasagna with 5 chips. The lasagna was totally awesome and I can’t wait to make it again! For the recipe click here

 

Veggie Curry sans Rice
Veggie Curry sans Rice

Snacks

1 Egg Omlette with Blueberries and Cream Cheese
1 Egg Omlette with Blueberries and Cream Cheese

These are all really simple foods, combining fresh veggies with low carb ingredients. I’ve just been consulting my food list and trying to make tasty, exciting dishes that won’t leave my palate feeling bored or unsatisfied. I’ve been using the My Fitness Pal app to track both the calories and the carbs in each meal and so far it’s been pretty straight forward. The diet itself, I won’t lie, it’s been hard, there have been many temptations this week (cheesecake, Vegemite chocolate, porridge, fruit!) but I’m more than happy with my weight loss and will certainly be continuing this plan for another few weeks and hopefully I’ll reach my goal weight of 54.5kg or 120 pounds.

If you’d like to contribute to this blog post and share your Eco Atkins experiences please comment below and feel free to check out InstagramΒ and TwitterΒ for more low carb info ✌❀

3 thoughts on “Amazed, Astounded & Maybe Very Slightly Hungry

Leave a Reply

