Australia · Beauty · Nature · Photography · Travel

Seaviews, Smiles & Swings

For me happiness starts with a seaview. From my (well, mine for the next week!) living room window here in Seacliff Park, if the clouds aren’t sitting too low and the sun shine is just right, I’m usually lucky enough to catch a glimpse of the sparking, turquoise gem that is the ocean.

image

Yesterday we took advantage of our coastal location and went for a wander around Seacliff, it really is majestic. The contrasting green bushland and white sands, the dry arid parks and the wet, shimmery sea, the solitude of the beach compared to the thundering traffic on Brighton Road, it’s a suburb of contradictions.

To get to the beach we first have to cross a dual carriageway, then head through what I like to refer to as ‘the wilderness’ (it’s really just native bushland) then head down a vast series of steep steps (or you can opt for the zig zag hill which is a little further north) which leads directly to the esplanade. All in all it takes about 10 minutes. However, I cannot get enough of the views from the top of the steep steps so I tend to sit and stare, breathing it all in, embedding it all in to my mind, for at least a further 10 minutes. One day I won’t have the beach on my doorstep, I need to treasure these views, this serenity, this little piece of heaven.

image

We decided, while we were essentially on the tourist trail anyway, we may as well head to Kingston Historic House. It’s the oldest building in the Holdfast Bay area. Originally owned by the Kingston family who were very influencial in the founding of Adelaide and the SA government back in the 1800′, it is now owned by the National Trust and offers afternoon tea, function room hire and tours of the building. Unfortunately, it’s closed until March, so we just enjoyed the beautiful grounds instead. For more info on the house follow this link http://kingstonhouse.com.au

image

image

I had a really great time embracing all this beauty that is right on my doorstep, I think sometimes people forget to stop for a minute, take a breath and look around. I never want to forget how lucky I am to have had this travelling experience and one day when I no longer have a seaview to bring me happiness, I hope my memories and my photos will put a smile on my face.

Here are some more pictures I took while we were exploring yesterday, try not to get too jealous 😜😜

 

image

 

image

 

image

 

image

 

Thank you for reading, if you have any comments please leave them below and don’t forget to follow me on Instagram and Twitter✌ ❀

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

