Cooking · Diet · Food · Health · Homemade · Low Carb · Vegan · Vegan Food · Vegetarian · Vegetarian Culture · Vegetarian Food

My Culinary Quest

Over the past few days I’ve been watching a lot of The Food Network. And when I say a lot, I basically mean I haven’t turned it off. It’s been one of those kinda weeks. Watching non-stop cookery shows has not only left me feeling hungry, it has inspired me to cook better food. I want to understand flavours, learn about food pairing and broaden my culinary limits, at the moment I have a handful of ‘signiture’ dishes, but I would love to have the ability to be able to make a fantastic, flavoursome dish out of any given ingredients.

download

I got my tablet out and begun doing a little research, this led me to a really great book called The Vegetarian Flavour Bible by Karen Page. So far it seems perfect for what I plan to achieve and I would highly recommend it to everyone that wants to learn more about flavour, taste and vegetarianism.

images

So far, I mean, it’s only been a few days, I have started experimenting with herbs and spices. I love Mexican food and I created a really spicy, flavoursome dry rub using everyday spices, which I was really happy with. And it was so simple… Paprika, garlic powder, cayenne pepper, oregano, pepper and salt, easy and delicious. I rubbed the mixture on to cubes of tofu, left it to marinate for about half an hour then popped the cubes in to the oven for 20 minutes on 250 degrees. They came out crispy on the outside, soft in the middle and tasted distinctively of chilli non carne. They were awesome! I chucked them on top of a warm salad and my Friday night was perfect.

image

Today I have decided to make Lemon Tofu, a take on the somewhat traditional Lemon Chicken. And I’m hoping it turns out as lovely as my Mexican Tofu. I cut my tofu in to little cubes and left to one side. In a plastic pot I put about a 1/4 cup of lemon juice, 2 tablespoons of mixed herbs, a tablespoon of black pepper and 2 tablespoons of sunflower oil. I mixed it all around and put in the tofu to marinate. After an hour or so I baked it in a hot oven for 20 minutes.

image

image

image

I served the Lemon Tofu with some baby spinach and chickpeas that I marinated in the left over dressing, I also poured it over the top of the dish to add a little extra flavour. It tasted very impressive. The lemon was tart, the herbs warm and the sunflower oil held the whole dish together. I’m very excited to continue learning about flavour combinations and can’t wait to try out some new dishes.

For more pics and info on veggie friendly food please check out Without_Cruelty on Instagram and Twitter βœŒ ❀

Leave a Reply

