Australia · Beauty · Health · Self Help · Weight Loss

Dry Brushing, Body Brushing or Taking Your Skin to the Gym

Regardless of what you may call it, dry drushing is just everywhere at the moment! Lately my Instagram feed, my WordPress reader and my general thoughts seem to be very much focused around dry brushing and all the benefits that come along with adding a new ‘brush’ to your morning routine.

Personally I love it. To me it feels like exercise for my skin, afterwards I feel refreshed and revitalized. I have been brushing my body, along with my teeth and hair for many many years and I would highly recommend it to everyone who craves better skin. Remember, your skin is your largest organ and requires a lil’ love and attention now and again to ensure its working for you, not against you. Brushing your body with a firm, natural bristle brush for 5 minutes a day can really enhance your skins appearance, leave it feeling soft and smooth and can even reverse the signs of cellulite! Whoop!

image

The Low Down on Dry Brushing

  • Cellulite is toxic material accumulated in your body’s fat cells. Daily brushing  (‘specailly those thighs!) helps to increase your circulation, which gets your fat cells moving and makes it less likely for the toxins to set up shop. You can almost literally brush the cellulite away.
  • Dry brushing helps eliminate dead skin cells (and encourages new cell renewal), which results in smoother and brighter skin. This is obviously awesome as summer is on its way up in the Northern Hemisphere and everyday is summer down here in the South!
  • Dry brushing stimulates your nerve endings so it helps to rejuvenate your entire nervous system. This is why your skin feels so amazing afterwards.
  • It helps with muscle tone and gives you a more even distribution of fat deposits.
  • Dry brushing helps your skin to absorb nutrients by eliminating clogged pores. Your skin can breath πŸ™‚
  • And in my humble opinion, it feels amazing. My skin feels so refreshed after I’ve brushed it, any dryness just vanishes and I’m left with a tingley sensation and a soft, smooth feeling that makes me want to sit and stroke myself for hours!

Dry brushing is so simple, yet so effective and you’ll see results from only 5 minutes per day. Before showering, grab yourself a firm, natural bristle brush, start at your ankles and work your way up to your knees. Long gliding strokes. Then do your thighs, adding a little pressure if it’s a ‘problem area’.

For your stomach, start from the left and work your way across to the right. Work your way up to your neck.  Be really careful when doing this area and your chest and collar-bone, don’t add too much pressure as it’s a delicate part of your body.

For the arms, start at your wrists and work up to your shoulders. Always follow the direction of the blood flow, brushing towards your heart. I always like to start on the left hand side. Once your done, hop in the shower to get rid of any dead cells or dry skin. I find that using a loofah will doubly enhance the softness of your skin, and applying a moisturizer afterwards will lock in those benefits.

unnamedimages

 

I hope you have found this post informative and I really hope it inspires everyone to take up body brushing.

Without_Cruelty is on Instagram and Twitter please follow me ✌❀

Leave a Reply

