Adelaide · Australia · Cooking · Diet · Drink · Food · Homemade · Recipes · Travel · Vegan · Vegan Food · Vegetarian · Vegetarian Food

Easy Peasy Polenta

Last Monday Kerry and I said our final farewell to Adelaide and boarded a plane back to the dizzying heights of Sydney. SA was definitely an experience; Adelaide is a beautiful, buoyant city, there are dreamy, postcard-esque coastlines and charming rural towns full of history and traditional architecture. The people we met during our 2 months down south were friendly, accommodating and so much fun! I will never forget our time spent in this great place. But Sydney… woo hoo!

Sitting on board the plane, it suddenly hit me that we didn’t visit Andres Cucina. A polenta bar in the heart of the city that I had seen online and read numerous reviews of. Damn, damn, damn, damn, damn!!! Stop the plane, I’m going back!!!!

unnamed

images

Click Here for the website

Ok, I didn’t go back, instead I vowed to make my own polenta. I knew it would be horrid and pale in comparison, but nevertheless I’m nothing if not a tryer. And in fact, it wasn’t horrid, it was quite delicious and so easy and I was very impressed with the dish. The colour, texture and flavour were all perfect and I’d happily eat it again…. *pats self on the back*

Follow these easy peasy steps to create your very own Fried Polenta

What You’ll Need: A cup and a half of polenta, 5 cups of boiling water, a selection of your favourite herbs and spices (the flavours I added are in the picture below and I used a teaspoon of each) salt and pepper for seasoning and olive oil to give the polenta a glossy finish.

What You’ll Need to do:

Once you’ve decided what herbs to use, add them to 5 cups of boiling water and simmer on the stove. Slowly pour in the polenta, whisking as you go to avoid getting any lumps. The mixture should firm up pretty quickly, keep whisking and add a little more water if you feel it’s getting to heavy. This process should take about 15 minutes to reach the right consistency. Then add your salt and pepper and if you’re like me, hot sauce. Then add a few good glugs of olive oil to make the polenta delicious and silky. You could also use butter if you prefer.

Salt, pepper, olive oil, a veggie stock cube, basil, rosemary, sage, marojam, oregano thyme and good old tabasco sauce
Salt, pepper, olive oil, a veggie stock cube, basil, rosemary, sage, marjoram, oregano thyme and good old tabasco sauce

Let the mixture cool down for about 15 minutes then transfer to a baking dish so it can take shape, firm up and dry out a little, ready for frying. You’ll need to leave it in the fridge, wrapped in cling, for about 5 hours, then remove it about an hour before frying. This isn’t a spur of the moment dish I’m afraid!

Tansfer the polenta in to a baking tray to mould the shape
Transfer the polenta in to a baking tray to mould the shape
Wrap the polenta in cling to allow to cool and firm up in the fridge
Wrap the polenta in cling to allow to cool and firm up in the fridge

Once the polenta is firm and ready for frying, cut it in to strips, chips, triangles, whatever you fancy and shallow fry in some good quality oil. Each side should take about 5 minutes to achieve a good golden colour. I found popping the strips in the oven on a really high heat also helps to add to the crispness. I served mine with cous cous and stuffed vine leaves. It made for a delicious Mediterranean treat πŸ™‚

image

Like I said this was my first attempt at making polenta, if you have any tips or advice for me, feel free to leave a comment below. Thanks for reading and please follow Without_Cruelty on Instagram and Twitter βœŒ ❀

2 thoughts on “Easy Peasy Polenta

    1. Thank you so much! You know, since this attempt I haven’t made polenta again, which is a shame because it turned out pretty well. I think if I do try it again I’ll skip out the frying process and have it quite loose like mash instead. Any tips will be very much appreciated πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

