Australia · Diet · Food · Homemade · Recipes · Vegan · Vegan Food · Vegetarian · Vegetarian Culture · Vegetarian Food · Weight Loss

My Homemade Korma Recipe #yummmmm

And here we have it, Monday again. And with it comes a hazy glow, a definite sense of autumn and the urge to wrap up under the covers and eat copious amounts of carbs! This ‘Autumn Glow’ is mostly due to the clocks going back here in Sydney and unfortunately it’s now dark at 6pm. My summer vibes (and soon my summer body!) will be nothing but a happy memory and only visually accessible on my Instagram feed (like many a Friday night!)

images

So now that there is a slight chill in the air, it’s time to start rocking out the autumn food; curry, soup, pumpkins, roasted veggies with rosemary and sage, mash potato, pies and of course hot chocolate. Yesterday, I started at the top of the list and begun experimenting with curry. I love curry, especially kormas, but they have to be rich, sweet and nutty (no, I’m not describing my ideal man) full of crunchy vegetables and accompanied by lots of fresh, warm naan bread. So I embarked on a little sunday afternoon research and finally settled on a recipe that was quick, pretty simple and full of flavor and texture. I was really happy with the results and even happier that there’s enough korma paste left to make 2 more awesome curries. Below is the recipe for both the curry paste and the veggie curry, both are simple and delicious and there’s plenty of room for adjustment. Use whatever veg you like, I just happen to like orange veggies!

Korma Paste

What You’ll Need: 1 tablespoon of cumin seeds, 1 tablespoon of sunflower seeds (both lightly toasted in an oil free pan for about 2 minutes) 50g of plain cashews, 2 tablespoons of desiccated coconut, 1 tablespoon of garam masala, 1 tablespoon of paprika, 1 tablespoon of turmeric, 1 teaspoon of minced ginger, 2 tomatoes quartered, 5 cloves of garlic, a green chilli, 1/4 cup of vegetable oil

image

What You’ll Need to do:

Once you’ve toasted off the cumin seeds and the sunflower seeds, add everything to a blender and blend. When it starts forming a paste, slowly add in the vegetable oil and continue blending until the paste becomes smooth. I didn’t take mine as far as I should have, it was still a little grainy as the cashews weren’t 100% crushed, but I think this contributed positively to the overall texture of the curry. Transfer the paste in to a dish and store in the fridge.

image

Vegetable Korma

What You’ll Need: 50g of hydrated soya chunks (these aren’t 100% necessary, veggies or Quorn pieces will do if you can’t get hold of soya chunks) 1 400ml tin of coconut cream, 3 chopped tomatoes, 2 large carrots, 2 onions, 1 capsicum  (I used orange) 250g of pumpkin, 2 tablespoons of chilli flakes and 3 tablespoons of the homemade korma paste.

image

What You’ll Need to do:

Start frying off the soya chunks and pumpkin in a deep sided frying pan, keep stirring to they don’t stick or burn, and once they start browning (should take about 7 minutes on a medium heat) add in the carrot. Give it another 5 minutes, just so the carrot softens, then add the rest of the veggies and a splash of water.

image

After about 10 minutes, once everything has softened, especially the pumpkin as they can take a while, add in the homemade korma paste. Your kitchen will begin to smell amazing, but just keep stirring and cooking and don’t get distracted!

image

It’ll take the paste about 10 minutes to cook through and fully breakdown. When this happens, add the coconut milk. I like to do it in stages, adding it bit by bit and mixing it through gently. You don’t want to crush any of the veggies, they’re better when they keep their shape.

image

Once the coconut cream has been added, throw in your chilli flakes, give it a further 5 minutes and voila! There you have it, a creamy, spicy, rich homemade korma. This will serve 2 people, but the paste can be saved and will make another 2 meals quite easily. Kerry and I tag teamed last night, while I made the korma, he made naan bread which was awesome and amazing and was so much tastier than rice. I’ll ask him nicely and I’ll try to get the recipe. Until then enjoy the curry and please remember to follow Without_Cruelty on Instagram and Twitter βœŒ ❀

image

3 thoughts on “My Homemade Korma Recipe #yummmmm

  1. Omg yuuummmmmm!!! I’m going to need to try this.

    I seen you comment on Community Pool about backpacking in Australia. I get so excited when I see other people blogging from Sydney too lol. I’m excited to read about your travels!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey! You should definitely try it, it’s tasty and amazing and so healthy!
    Sydney is such a great city, I’m slightly missing Adelaide and it’s tiny CBD though, I was there for a few months and it immediately felt like home. I need to get to know Sydney a bit more, fall in love with it and make it my own. If you have any tips please feel free to share πŸ™‚ I haven’t been woofing, looked into it but, nope, wasn’t for me lol
    Your blog is great btw, just had a read, it was awesome πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

