Asia · Diet · Drink · Food · Health · Thailand · Travel · Vegan · Vegan Food · Vegetarian · Vegetarian Food · Weight Loss

7 Day Challenge: Coconut Water

Last week I read an article on lifehack.org that almost guaranteed that by consuming coconut water everyday for a week you would instantly posess a bikini body, have perfect, blemish-free skin, never suffer from a head ache again and basically live to 705. As a woman and a beliver in magic, this appealed to my inner insecurities and as I have an abundance of fresh coconuts in my life right now (thank you Thailand) I thought I would give it a shot. What’s the worst that could happen? 699?

Below is my experience of how a week of coconut water has (or hasn’t) changed my life and here’s a snippet of the article written by Loraine Couturier. If you would like to read the entire article, then please clickΒ hereΒ πŸ™‚

 

screenshot_2016-10-21-00-48-45-1.png

 

*******

You’ll Strengthen Your Immune System

During my week of obsessive coconut water drinking, I suffered from food poisoning twice and had a bad bout of impegito (which I am incredibly prone to when I get worn out and run down.) But hopefully going forward, my immune system will work in unison with my body and provide an excellent defence against all things embarrassing and yucky!

 

wp-1476988252448.jpg

 

You’ll Start to Feel More Energetic

It might be the 35 degree heat but over all my energy levels have not increased.

 

wp-1476988583025.jpg

 

You’ll Feel Better Internally

Not quite sure how to measure this… ‘Internally’ I have been terribly bloated lately but that can be attributed to my soya intolerance (also known as ‘vegan hell’) I have been urinating a lot more than usual which is actually a nightmare as public toilets in Thailand generally consist ofΒ squat toiletsΒ eek!

 

wp-1476988583023.jpg

You’ll Notice Improvements in Your Digestive System

I’m a plant based eater. My digestion is fine!!!

You’ll Loose Weight

Still fat. Next.

 

wp-1476988583020.jpg

You’ll Relieve Certain Types of Headaches for Good

I don’t often suffer with headaces, so I cannot comment 😦

You’ll Notice More Radiant Skin

I haven’t had a breakout this week, so I’m pretty happy about that. Can I assume it’s due to the coconut water? Yeah why not.

 

wp-1476988500276.jpg

You’ll Feel Younger

Again, no, not really. But I never feel particularly old anyway. I’m 31, healthy, reasonably fit and incredibly happy, that’s my fountain of youth right there!

 

wp-1476988583021.jpg

 

Overall I think most things take more than 7 days to produce any real, physical signs. Yes, if you increase your fluids you’re bound to wee more and if you eat a lot of fibre you’re digestion will rev up, but weight loss, skin radiance, a stronger immune system? I’ll give it a month and let you know! If you too have tried to harness the benefits of coconut water then please let me know and comment below.

For more wonderful insights please check out Without_Cruelty on Instagram ✌ ❀

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “7 Day Challenge: Coconut Water

  1. I researched coconut water a few years ago when Cocozia sent me a case of coconut water in exchange for a review. Basically, coconut water is very high in potassium and magnesium, which makes it sort of a Nature’s version of Gatorade and Pedialyte. It would no doubt be helpful if you’re dehydrated. And it might be helpful to those who have conditions worsened by electrolyte imbalances (possibly migraines, restless legs, etc.) But someone young and healthy like you probably wouldn’t notice a significant change. However … those fresh coconuts you’re drinking the water from look sooo yummy!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey, thanks for your comment. Yeah you’re right, coconut water is absolutely full of the good stuff your body needs for hydration and performance so drinking it can only be beneficial (I do worry about the calories though!) I feel a week isn’t really long enough to see any noticeable changes in your overall health but if it can aide headaches, help with hydration and relieve hang overs then I’m definitely on board πŸ™‚ Those fresh coconuts are totally awesome, just the whole experience makes me happy, unfortunately I haven’t seen any here in Cambodia yet, but when I find one, I’ll be all over it!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

