Asia · Food · Travel Guide · Vegan · Vegan Food · Vegetarian · Vegetarian Food · Vietnam

What The Hell’s A Lalot Leaf? Good Vegan Food In Hanoi

I am always on the hunt for a good veggie restaurant and when I find one I want to try everything on the menu. Twice. While here in Hanoi Kerry and I found a really cool vegetarian restaurant called Nang Tam that offers various set menus, which means you can sample a lot of food without having to order everything! And it was delicious and creative and reasonably priced and I would definitely had back. If you are in Hanoi and want some yummy veggie fayre, I highly recommend a visit to Nang Tam πŸ™‚

wp-1481184151599.jpg

The menu is really sweet and starts with a nice little fairy tale, it’s basically a Vietnamese take on Cinderella and fills the time while you’re waiting for your food to arrive.

wp-1481184151601.jpg

wp-1481183950247.jpg

I ordered set menu 2B, and I was incredibly impressed. I’ve eaten so much bland food whilst in Vietnam that this really surprised me. All 5 dishes arrived on one plate, the soup and rice came separately and I also had an iced tea. I wasn’t sure what to expect from the Snow Balls or the Beef in Lalot leaf, Β but they were both highlights! The snow balls are potato and mushroom croquettes, deep fried and seasoned with chilli. The beef in lalot leaf consisted of 3 small cubes of mushroom and tofu, wrapped in a leaf and topped with peanut shavings, yum! The mock chicken was TVP and deliciously spongy, the tofu in tomato sauce was ok and the greens were very, very salty. The soup (which I haven’t photographed, tut tut) was what I assume to be a Vietnamese take on sweet and sour, it was nice, but quite oily, I didn’t finish it. Overall, I was very impressed and if I head back I’ll definitely order the beef in lalot leaves again πŸ™‚

wp-1481183950266.jpg

For more veggie food inspiration please follow Without_Cruelty on Instagram ✌ ❀

One thought on “What The Hell’s A Lalot Leaf? Good Vegan Food In Hanoi

Leave a Reply

