Asia · Backpacker · Food · Spain · Travel · Travel Blog · Vegan · Vegetarian · Vietnam

Goodbye Vietnam, Hello Spain

So we have left Asia! 24Β hours, 3 continents, 2 flights and no sleep but we are finally in Spain. And I’m so freakin’ excited. Yes it’s kinda cold and yes Christmas is being forcibly rammed into every pore but still, Spain πŸ™‚

Airport Selfies
Airport Selfies

So the flights were a nightmare, they always are, I’m a terrible flyer. I get antsy, uncomfortable, fidgety, and whiney. I basically turn into a 5 year child (sorry everyone!) Our first flight from Hanoi to Moscow was 10.5 hours, I watched 3 films, Mothers Day, Demolition and Gone With the Wind, (yes the girl that gets bored sitting through anything longer than 90 minutes at the cinema watched a four hour film!) I read the first page of my new book, Liane Moriartys Truly, Madly, Guilty and ate 2 surprisingly good aeroplane meals. We flew via the Russian airline Aeroflot and I would definitely recommend them, based on the meals alone!

wp-1481705578745.jpg
Cucumber Salad, Wholemeal Roll, Kidney Bean and Lentil Curry with Rice and Morning Glory and a Really Great Mini Fruit Salad. Oh and free vino! All in all I was thrilled!

 

wp-1481705552750.jpg
8 hours later, this arrived. A mixed salad with an Italian vinaigrette and another wholemeal roll and a chana masala with noodles and a good amount of spice.

 

Our second flight, from a freezing, freezing, freezing cold Moscow (-13 and Kerry and I were both in sandals) was delayed byΒ 50 minutes, bad start, and had no in flight entertainment. I set my tablet up and planned to binge watch Divorce for 4 hours. I ended up watching 3 episodes plus an Aussie Come Dine With Me and gorging on food. We had another yummy aeroplane meal and finally landed in to Barcelona airport at about 11.10pm.

It was safe to sayKerry and I both shivered a little when the captian announced it was minus 13 in Moscow....
It was safe to say Kerry and I both shivered a little when the captain announced it was minus 13 in Moscow….

 

wp-1481705578747.jpg
Our third and final meal was so delicious! Mediterranean style cous cous with olive oil and lemon and a lentil and sweet potato bake with veggies. Seriously good!

When we reached our hotel in the city I was so pleased to finally be horizontal. I hit the pillow and slept for a well deserved 7 hours. I woke up at 6.30am (obvs still on Vietnamese time) feeling uncharacteristically refreshed and ready to explore. I can’t wait to start our new adventure here in Spain, and I’m sure I’ll have lots to blog about and antidotes to share. For more food and travel pics please follow Without_Cruelty on Instagram ✌ ❀

Leave a Reply

