Blogmas · Christmas · Cooking · Food · Homemade · Mexican Christmas · Recipes · Vegan · Vegan Food · Vegetarian · Vegetarian Food

My Mexican Inspired Christmas! Day 2 Vegan Fajitas 

As the days to 2017 count down, the festive fun continues here in Spain and Kerry and I are still enjoying our Mexican theme! Last night we made spicy, veggie fajitas and I just love how versatile and creative you can be with Mexican food. I used veggie friendly sausages as the protein, added a few veggies and spices and had the perfect dish, ready to wrap in a tortilla and serve with a big jar of salsa! I’m really enjoying this foodie journey, here is the second instalment in my Mexican Inspired Vegan Food series, I hope it inspires you to get creative in the kitchen!

tumblr_nshewrjwew1ur6ghso1_400

Spicy Veggie Fajitas

Veggie Mixture

6 Vegan Friendly Sausages (or a protein of your choice)

A Carrot

1/2 Zucchini

1/4 Red Capsicum

1/4 Green Capsicum

1/4 Onion

1/4 Tomato

5 Cloves of Garlic

Spice Mix

2 Teaspoons of Smoky Paprika

A Sprinkle of Chilli Flakes

Pepper to taste

To Serve

4 Tortilla Wraps

Salsa

Lettuce

Put your sausages in a pan and fry until golden. While they are sizzling away, Julienne your veggies and leave to one side. The sausages will take about 15 minutes, once they are done, leave to cool and add your veggies to the pan, excluding the onion and tomatoes. Fry the veggies, stirring frequently. Julienne the cooled sausages, add back to the pan and add the onions and tomatoes.

wp-1483029889451.png

wp-1483042260315.jpg

wp-1483027096566.png

wp-1483027152956.png

Let everything cook for 10 minutes, sprinkle in the paprika, pepper and chilli flakes and mix well. Add a tablespoon of water to bind the spices and simmer for 5 minutes. Serve with warmed tortillas, some chunky salsa and crunchy lettuce. I made some spicy rice to accompany ours, I might post the recipe tomorrow 😉 For a vegetarian alternative add a little cheese while wrapping your fajita 😊

wp-1483027033986.png

I hope you enjoyed this post, for more veggie friendly, foodie pics and recipes please check out Without_Cruelty on Instagram ✌ ❤

And for the rest of my Mexican Inspired Christmas mini series please click the links below

My Mexican Inspired Christmas! Day 1 Vegan Quesadillas

My Mexican Inspired Christmas! Day 3 Vegan Tostadas

My Mexican Inspired Christmas! Day 4 Chilli sin Carne

My Mexican Inspired Christmas! Day 5 Hot Spiced Sangria

4 thoughts on “My Mexican Inspired Christmas! Day 2 Vegan Fajitas 

Leave a Reply

