Blogmas · Christmas · Cooking · Food · Mexican Christmas · Recipes · Vegan · Vegan Food · Vegetarian · Vegetarian Food

My Mexican Inspired Christmas! Day 3 Vegan Tostadas 

It’s day 3 of my Mexican Inspired Christmas mini series, I hope everyone is enjoying it so far (I am, but boy! It’s making me fat! JK, JK, everybody!!) But just in case anyone is starting to feel the bloat after all that christmas… cheer, today’s ‘masterclass’ is a salad. A Mexican style tostada to be precise.

I first had this dish in a great Mexican restaurant in Siem Reap (yes, I see how random that is!) and I was inspired to give it a try yesterday lunch time. As usual I have put my own somewhat unique twist on it, I used a homemade bean and garlic paste as the salad bed which worked really really well. It created a depth of flavour that surprised both me and my taste buds and it’s a combination I’ll definitely be using more often. If you want to give it a try, the details are below! And remember, this is all about creativity. If you wanna mix things up, feel free and please comment below so I can try out your tweaks!

Veggie Tostada

1/2 Jar of White Beans

1/2 Bag of Salted Tortilla Chips

A Splash of Lime Juice

A Handful of Cherry Tomatoes, Halved

3 Cloves of Garlic, Chopped

1/8 Onion

1/8 Red Capsicum (I like the sweetness of red over the bitterness of the greens)

3 Tablespoons of Sweetcorn

A Teaspoon of Veggie Friendly Butter

A Bag of Salad (This is optional, I forgot to use it in final prep (dummy!) and it tasted just perfect without it)

First things first, chop all your veggies! Then put your beans in a bowl and mash them slightly. It will kinda resemble baby food, but trust me, it tastes amazing. Heat a little oil in a pan, fry the garlic until brown then spoon in the mashed bean mixture. Stir, put in the butter and a few squirts of lime juice. Your kitchen will begin to smell a-ma-zing! Cook for 5 minutes, ensuring the garlic does not burn. Then leave to one side to cool a little.

While this is cooling, lay your chips on to a plate and try not to pop one in your mouth (it’s harder than it sounds!)

Spoon your beany-garlic mixture on to the chips, add your veggies on top and finish with another few squirts of lime juice. Serve with salsa or guacamole or any other dip of your choice and enjoy!

For the rest of this Mexican mini series please click the links below and for more yummy, foodie fun please check out Without_Cruelty on Instagram ✌ ❤

My Mexican Inspired Christmas! Day 1 Vegan Quesadillas 

My Mexican Inspired Christmas! Day 2 Vegan Fajitas

My Mexican Inspired Christmas! Day 4 Chilli sin Carne

My Mexican Inspired Christmas! Day 5 Hot Spiced Sangria

4 thoughts on “My Mexican Inspired Christmas! Day 3 Vegan Tostadas 

Leave a Reply

