Cooking · Diet · Food · Homemade · Ireland · Recipes · Travel · Vegan · Vegan Food · Vegetarian · Vegetarian Food

Irish Potato Cakes with Spinach & Kale

Think Ireland, think potatoes right? Ireland has quite the affinity with the good old spud and as Kerry and I are calling the Emerald Isle home for the next 5 weeks I thought I would embrace the heritage and carb up!

17a

So our first week here in Ireland we invested in a huge 4kg bag of red skinned potatoes, now I have to put them to use and actually cook them! So far I have been kinda boring, I added one or two to swede mash and we’ve had jackets a few times, but today I pushed the boat out and made mash potato cakes, Maxine style! They were pretty awesome too! Healthy, tasty, quick and easy, my 4 must haves. I added some kale and spinach which pushed up my veggie intake for the day (it’s 10 portions now guys!!) and by using a dash of garlic powder it created an extra level of flavour. I served them along side my home made chilli and I think they were a winner!

wp-1488382015597.jpg

If you would like to give these carby cakes a go, the recipe is below πŸ™‚

What You’ll Need

(Makes 5 Patties)

2 Medium Potatoes

A Quarter of A Brown Onion Β (Thinly Diced)

A Handful of Kale

A Handful of Spinach

A Knob of (Vegan) Butter

A Teaspoon of Garlic Powder

A Sprinkle of Salt & Pepper

******

What You’ll Need To Do

Chop the potatoes, skin and all, in to small cubes and boil for 15 minutes or until soft. While they are boiling chop the spinach, kale and onion. Drain the potatoes, add a knob of (vegan) butter, season and mash. Once soft, fold through the veggies and garlic powder and form 5 balls.

wp-1488386297232.jpg

wp-1488386405845.jpg

Flatten the balls in to patties once on the baking tray (it’s much easier!) And pop in to the oven. Bake for 15 minutes, turn, and bake for a further 15 minutes and viola! Perfect potato cakes!

wp-1488386500910.png

wp-1488382046162.jpg

Serve as an accompliment to a main dish or just have a couple with some chilli like I did, it was very filling and satisfying.

For more foodie fun please check out Without_Cruelty on Instagram ✌ ❀

One thought on “Irish Potato Cakes with Spinach & Kale

Leave a Reply

