Australia · Backpacker · Gypsy · Happiness · Travel · Travel Blog · Travel Guide

The End of an Era

I am very swiftly approaching the end of my current chapter. Having spent the last 2 years and 7 months travelling, living life as a wandering nomad across Australia, New Zealand, SE Asia and limited parts of Europe, it’ll soon be time to go home and back to reality. Do I want to go home? Yes. Do I want to say goodbye to this crazy, free spirit lifestyle? No. Do I want to merge back in to an over worked, stressed out, money driven society? No. Do I want to think about my future with Kerry and try to make something of my life? Yes. Do I want to see my friends and family again? Hell yes!  But man, it’s the end of an era!

wp-1488724016796.gif

The struggle between giving up this life and going home is so real. Some days I love the freedom that travelling brings, other days I crave security and honestly, more than just 3 outfits! This didn’t start out as a travelling adventure, and that’s what makes it so freakin’ exciting. The evolution of our journey, the ability to jump on a bus, a train, a plane, to cross boarders, to cross continents, to start a new life where ever we choose, it’s freedom in its rawest sense and I love it! It’s amazing! But on the other hand, I recall the stress of being almost homeless on many many occasions, carrying our heavy backpacks from place to place usually in 30 degree heat or monsoon style rain, the loneliness of not knowing anyone in a new city and missing out on milestones with family and friends. That side of the backpacking lifestyle is a tough one, even though I have always had Kerry here with me, sometimes it isn’t enough (sorry babe! Who am I kidding, he doesn’t read my blog!)

August 2014, without a plan in mind I boarded a plane to Sydney. Kerry was already there, he arrived 6 weeks before me and sorted out a place for us to live. A gorgeous apartment in the prestigious Meriton in Zetland. It was beautiful, even if it was only for 2 weeks, but at that point I probably would have been happy in a cardboard box! We were in a romantic whirlwind and everything was hazy and perfect. Sydney is such an iconic place and to fall in love on the streets of the famous CBD, in the shadow of the Opera House, to me, was just magical. I will never forget Sydney. I will never forget any of it, from our cockroach infested studio flat in Fortitude Valley, Brisbane to the beach front mansion in Merewether, NSW, we house-sat in over Christmas and new year. The wet and wild cliffs of Victoria in Winter, Kerry’s toe, broken, both ill-equipped to deal with an Aussie winter. And the incredibly hot summer we spent in a bathroom-less tin cabin in Cairns, Northern Queensland, again, both very ill-equipped to deal with the tropical heat, the 100% humidity and the sudden downpours of torrential rain! Memories…..

Me at Heathrow Airport, just before my long arse flight to Sydney
Me at Heathrow Airport, just before my long arse flight to Sydney

 

Kerry and I on the Manly Ferry with the Opera House in the background
Kerry and I on the Manly Ferry with the Opera House in the background

 

The entrance foyer of 'our' Christmas and New Year accommodation 2015
The entrance foyer of ‘our’ Christmas and New Year accommodation 2015

 

Our Christmas Day view 2015
Our Christmas Day view 2015

 

A windbreaker and a borrowed scarf, my winter wardrobe
A windbreaker and a borrowed scarf, my winter wardrobe

 

The day we left our cabin... we look happy, but actually we were drunk!
The day we left our cabin… we look happy, but actually we were drunk!

 

A backpack and an incredibly short dress! The backpackers uniform
A backpack and an incredibly short dress! The backpackers uniform

But a new chapter will soon commence. A new life together, one where we won’t face homelessness on a regular basis and we won’t have to live out of a backpack. We won’t need to search hotel sites or Air B&B for good deals or worry about shared facilities and hot water. We can just live. And be happy and look to the future.

So all that being said, unfortunately the travel section of the Without Cruelty blog might suffer slightly (a lot!!!) in the coming months and the food and lifestyle segments will start prevailing. I would love to hear from you guys about what you would like to read and see more of here on the blog, please please comment below, I would really like to hear from you!!

And for more Aussie (and other countries!) pics and adventures please check out Without_Cruelty on Instagram ✌ ❤

9 thoughts on “The End of an Era

  1. Hi Maxine, enjoy every little bit of what’s left of your amazing journey, and when you’re back home, I would enjoy a lot reading about your re-integration to the “other” real world (ours) and how you manage to fit again into society, what eventually changed in your relationships with people, and finally what you would like to “teach” people around you about your experience.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Sophie, thank you so much for the comment. I love your idea about re-intergration… to be honest I barely gave any thought to how things may have changed back home and how my relationships may of altered with people. It’s all I can think about now, eek! I think it’ll be very interesting to note the changes that have occurred during my absence and see how people have grown and how British society has changed on the whole. I’m going back to what will probably be a totally different country to the one I left. Watch this space lol!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thank you Lana! No we didn’t work whilst we were away, Kerry and I both had working holiday visas for Australia and NZ but because we tended to move fairly regularly, getting a job wasn’t really an option. To keep our costs down we house and pet sat which was an amazing experience. We met some truly awesome people and looked after some beautiful, cheeky little pets! And of course the free (often mind-blowing) accommodation was a huge perk! ☺🖒💖

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

