Cooking · Recipes · Travel · Vegan · Vegan Food · Vegetarian · Vegetarian Food

Cheesey Vegetable Puff Pies (Vegan Friendly) 

I’ve been thinking about making some puff pastry pies for such a long time, and hurray, I finally did it! Like most things in life, I wish I did it sooner as they were really simple, really tasty and of course vegan friendly 🙂

At first I couldn’t decide on what filling to make, I was flipping backwards and forwards between spicy Mexican bean or ‘cheese’ and potato. Both had their merits… Ultimately though, I went in a different direction and opted for peppery veg and vegan cheese. I was reminded of the Greggs vegetable pasties I used to get back at home, a delicious combo of warm veggies and a hit of hot pepper, ooh yum! My decision was cemented!

In a mere 40- minutes I went from a small pile of ingredients to the most awesome, amazing pies I had ever seen. Sorry, my modesty has gone astray, these pies were epic! And if you too would like to feel like the Sovereign of all Pies, the instructions are below 🙂

What You’ll Need

Makes 3 Puff Pies

Ready Rolled Puff Pastry (almost all brands are ‘accidentally vegan’)

20g of Vegan Pizza Cheese (it needs to be melty)

Half a tin of mixed veggies

Pepper

Vegan Butter for Greasing

******

What You’ll Need to do

Preheat your oven to 180 degrees. Drain the tin of mixed veg and empty half in to a bowl. Chop the cheese into cubes. Mash the veggies, leaving a few larger chunks for texture, then add the cubes of cheese, a lot of pepper and mix well.

Unroll the pastry and cut in to 3 equal size rectangles. Spoon the mixture evenly on to the pastry and fold, pressing the edges down with your fingers, then go over with a fork, for added security!

Prick the pasties with a fork, grease with a little butter and transfer on to a baking tray. Cook at 180 degrees for 25 minutes, then turn up to 250 for the final 5 minutes.  **But keep your eye on them!! They can go from brown in burnt very very quickly**

Remove from the oven, pat yourself on the back and serve immediately. I paired them with the left over tinned veg and a blob of hummus. I was very happy!

For more recipe inspiration and foodie pics please check out Without_Cruelty on Instagram ✌ ❤

2 thoughts on “Cheesey Vegetable Puff Pies (Vegan Friendly) 

Leave a Reply

