Diet · Fruit and Veg · Health · Vegan · Vegan Food · Vegetarian · Vegetarian Food

Natural Ways to Relieve PMS

Ugh PMS…. As a fairly recent sufferer of this affliction I have been looking for a natural ‘treatment’ to combat the symptoms for about a month now. It’s been kinda long-winded and not particularly veggie friendly but having read (a lot) of articles, including some that even doubt its very existence, I have finally compiled a list of foods and supplements that could aid in the nightmare that is PMS!

The Womens Health Concern website states that “one in three women suffers discomforting symptoms in the days before their period. For one in 20 the symptoms are bad enough to seriously affect their lives”. This is crazy, there has to be a better way, right?

One thing that cropped up a lot during my research was Evening Primrose Oil. And not only is it great at balancing your hormones, it helps clear acne, promotes hair growth, and keeps your skin soft and supple. Unfortunately, finding an EPO that doesn’t contain gelatine is very difficult, and the vegan varieties I have found are kinda pricey in comparison.

So, what can be done? Now, I’m no expert, I’m just a woman on a mission! The items on this list could help relieve your symptoms, and they are listed on the NHS website, but your body is a fickle thing, so please don’t kill me if they don’t work!

Vitamin D, Calcium, Magnesium. Taking these supplements each day could ease your suffering. But if like me, you prefer to get your vitamins and minerals from food, then below is a list of foods that you can incorporate in to your everyday diet. Aaand, they’re all super healthy, aaand one of them is the sun, so win win!

Vitamin D

Mushrooms, Fortified Soya/Almond Milk, Tofu and Sunlight

Calcium

Black Eyed Peas, Sesame Seeds, Kale, Turnip Greens, White Beans, Tofu, Seaweed, Orange Juice and all types of Dairy Milk Alternatives.

Magnesium

Spinach, Nuts & Seeds, Legumes, Whole Grains, Avocados, Bananas and Figs

I really hope this post has been helpful, I know the research I’ve done has really helped me out and not just with my symptoms but also with managing them. I feel that all the above can easily be introduced in to a healthy plant-based diet and I’m finding that the psychological effects of eating healthily is having a really positive effect too. Let me know what you think in the comments below. And please don’t forget to check out Without_Cruelty on Instagram ✌ ❀

 

 

4 thoughts on “Natural Ways to Relieve PMS

    1. Oh excellent, I can’t wait to read it πŸ™‚ Yes I read about cutting back on caffeine, drinking lots of water and exercising, all things I don’t want to do when I’m PMS-ing hahaha!! x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

