Cooking · Diet · Food · Health · Low Carb · Recipes · Vegan · Vegan Food · Vegetarian · Vegetarian Food

What I Eat in a Day: Another Low- Carbing Post

I’ve been on a low-carb diet for almost 2 weeks now and despite 2 mega cheat days, I have lost about 6 pounds and considering my target is 8 pounds, I’m pretty darn happy. Throughout these 2 weeks a few people have asked what a low carb vegan diet consists of, and to be honest, the answer is not particularly much! Obviously all carbs are off limits so no bread, pasta, rice, grains, wheat or baked goods. Unfortunately most fruit is off limits too, as are a wide selection of veggies and mock meat products. Dairy free alternatives to milk and cheese are a good staple, but the carbs still outweigh the fat and protein which can be quite damaging, especially if you are aiming to reach keto. Which this time around, I am!

What is keto I hear you cry? Ketosis (or keto for short) is a normal metabolic process, something your body does to keep working. When it doesn’t have enough carbohydrates from food for your cells to burn for energy, it burns fat instead. As part of this process, it makes ketones.
To reach keto it is recommended that you do not surpass 30-50g of carbohydrates per day. Instead you consume lots of fat and protein and the ketones in your body will use this energy to ensure you and your brain function correctly. Easy!

So what have I been eating for the last couple of weeks then? Prepare to be underwhelmed guys, it’s not that fun, but it does work.

A Typical Low Carb Day

Breakfast

1 Tomato, cut in half, sprinkled with chilli flakes and baked for 20 minutes

50g of button mushrooms, baked for 20 minutes

2 Linda McCartney Sausages

Calories 160 / Carbs 10g

Lunch

200g Alpro Natural Soya Yoghurt

 With 40g of Tesco Frozen Berries (defrosted) mixed in

Calories 163 / Carbs 7g

Afternoon Snack

25g of Mixed Nuts

Calories 160 / Carbs 2g

Dinner

Homemade Chickpea & Lentil Curry

50g Chickpeas

59g Lentils

50g Tinned Tomatoes

50g Spinach

1 Teaspoon Curry Powder

With a Side of Baked Tofu (100g)

Calories 244 / Carbs 16g

 Total for the Day: Calories 727 / Carbs 35g / Fat 38g / Protein 45g

Breakfast and lunch generally stay the same each day, but I do experiment with dinner most nights. Last night I had homemade stuffed mushrooms, they were delicious (I’ll pop the recipe up shortly) Tesco do a really great Peanut and Avocado burger that tastes wonderful, especially with a blob of guac, and of course salads are always a great fall back, add a few nuts, Quorns new vegan ‘chicken’ fillets and a few chilli flakes and it’s a totally yum dish!

For a full list of vegan and vegetarian friendly low-carb foods please see my previous post, I’ll link it here and if you have any comments or recipe recommendations please please comment below. And for more please visit Without_Cruelty on Instagram ✌ ❤

 

17 thoughts on “What I Eat in a Day: Another Low- Carbing Post

              1. I walk a lot, run in good weather, follow Tracy Anderson dance DVDs if not, Yoga, light weights/resistance and when I can get to a pool, aqua-aerobics. I prefer to do short workouts daily as it is more manageable and sustainable.

                Liked by 1 person

                1. That’s excellent! You’re putting me to shame! I tend to do a lot of walking when the weather is good and I had quite a strict walking regime when we were in Australia. Unfortunately life is getting in the way a little now. I will get back in to exercise, I need to, I just need the drive and motivation.

                  Liked by 1 person

                  1. If you type resistance into my site you will find the best moves. Also if you type Exercise you will find an article on the benefits which hopefully will help. Sorry I don’t know how to link on phone 💗

                    Liked by 1 person

  1. Gonna sound like a mom here. But purposeful ketosis is nothing to sneeze at. Eat lots and lots of fresh, whole veggies! And don’t discount whole grains (brown and black rice, farro, barley, oats) and many low sugar fruits which have way more nutritional value than just ‘carbs.’ Processed protein subs should be lumped in with cakes and cookies; eat sparingly or not at all. Variety is key. Eat only when hungry and (like when pregnant) make it count. Fat is not meant to be shed quickly; slow on, slow off. Be patient with yourself and be kind to your kidneys (you only have two). You are beautiful with your additional 6 lbs!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Im contemplating a massive lifestyle change that I’m already transitioning into. Definitely cruelty-free, also low carb( (mainly low starch) and trying to accommodate Paleo there somewhere.
    These are good ideas you are posting. How fast are u losing weight?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s awesome, good luck to you! Cruelty free is such a rewarding way of life, I couldn’t recommend it highly enough. As for low carb, I’ve been following a low carb plan for just over 2 weeks now and I’ve lost about 5 kg. I’m just shy of my target weight. If you plan on loosing weight quickly I suggest you go in to keto, your body will react quickly to this and you’ll see fast results. I hope it all works out for you 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your comment Rachel! My protein intake is currently on track, it’s the fat I’m struggling with as vegan fat sources are few and far between! Nuts are my new best friend. Low Carb is predominantly a high fat diet, take in too much protein (and not enough fat) your body will metabolise it in to glucose and use it as a carb, that’ll knock me right out of keto.
      I only have 4 more days of low carb remaining, by Friday I would have hit the 4 week mark, I’ll be in ‘maintenance’ after that.
      Have a great day 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

