antioxidants · Diet · Drink · Food · Health · Health Food · Matcha · Recipes · Tea · Thailand · Vegan · Vegan Food · Vegetarian · Vegetarian Food

Do The Matcha Shake 

Anyone who follows my Instagram knows I drink a lot of tea and coffee, but recently I have been enjoying the light, delicate flavours of Matcha, powered green tea. Initially I was turned on to matcha because the health benefits far out weigh those of regular green tea, but it tastes so great, I now drink it for the flavour. Did you know….

  • When you drink matcha you ingest the entire leaf and receive 100% of the nutrients.
  • Matcha powder green tea has 137x more antioxidants than regularly brewed green tea
  • 1 cup of matcha equals 10 cups of regularly brewed green tea in terms of nutritional content

Unfortunately I haven’t been undertaking the entire Matcha ritual, the ceremonial preparation, the sifting, the whisking with a bamboo whisk, the straining through a linen cloth, as fun as it all sounds I am just far too impatient!

No, I’ve been serving it cold infact, with an icy dose of Coconut Flavoured Soya Milk and it’s been pretty wonderful. I first had a matcha shake while in Thailand and last week during our little heat wave here in the UK I thought it would be nice and refreshing to recreate it. So I ordered some Matcha Powder from Ebay, bought some Coconut Soya Milk and et viola! I was ready!


I used 1 teaspoon of matcha powder and 200 ml of soya milk and stirred it quite vigorously (I’m thinking that bamboo whisk may have come in handy at this point!) And served it over ice. It was delicious, not as good as my Thai one but still pretty damn tasty and just what I needed to cool down in the summer heat.


Here’s a few more Matcha facts, just in case you need a little more persuading to get on the Matcha Train!

  • It is packed with antioxidants including the powerful EGCg
  • Boosts metabolism and burns calories
  • Detoxifies effectively and naturally
  • Calms the mind and relaxes the body
  • Is rich in fiber, chlorophyll and vitamins
  • Enhances mood and aids in concentration
  • Provides vitamin C, selenium, chromium, zinc and magnesium
  • Prevents disease
  • Lowers cholesterol and blood sugar

 


So, what are you watching for, go forth and Matcha! And for more foodie pics and tips please check out Without_Cruelty on Instagram! And don’t forget to vote on my Blogiversary post, I’ll be reposting my favourite (and possibly yours!) tomorrow ✌❤

One thought on “Do The Matcha Shake 

Leave a Reply

