antioxidants · Atkins · Cooking · Diet · Food · Fruit and Veg · Health · Health Food · Homemade · Nutrition · Recipes · Vegan · Vegan Food · Vegetarian · Vegetarian Food · Weight Loss

My Stew Appreciation Post

As a plant-based eater I generally eat a lot of fruit and veg, so when I went ‘low-carb’ a few months ago I found cutting back on my safety net food group was really difficult. Not only because a low-carb vegan diet is quite restrictive, but because I honestly missed the crunch of a carrot and the vibrancy of a salad and these things can’t be replaced with fat or protein. And it’s a strange sensation actually, reducing your fruit and veg, limiting your portions and getting in to the mind frame of ‘fruit is bad’. But alas, that phase is over, here I am 1 stone lighter and back on the fruit and veg bandwagon! And it is goood……

To satisfy my cravings I am literally eating all the veg and how better to do that than with stews? Italian inspired stews, Mexican inspired stews, Moroccan inspired stews, all the stews! Now, I am not going to list any individual recipes here as this is more of a ‘stew appreciation’ post and to be honest, I haven’t really been following any set guidelines. I pretty much see what I have in the fridge, freezer, drawer, at any given time and throw it all in a pan. And surprisingly, it works. Every time. If you would like to see a recipe for my Simple Vegan StewΒ then please click the link πŸ™‚

Over the past 2 weeks I have made 4 stews, they are the kind of dishes that you cook once, eat twice, which is absolutely my favourite kind of dish. And as I said they are inspired by world flavours. I really love adding some Italian seasoning to a pan of veggies and tinned tomatoes, or a simple chilli spice mix to veggies, beans and pre-cooked rice or turmeric and curry powder to veggies, lentils and boiled potatoes. My current favourite is cumin and paprika added to a big pan of butternut squash, sweet potatoes and chickpeas, a little chilli powder for a heat kick and chopped carrots to add a little more sweetness. Β All of these stews are so quick, easy, nutritious, packed full of antioxidants and soo delicious! I thought I would share some pictures and hopefully you guys can get inspired to make some gorgeous, creative stews and share your recipes with me!!

Italian Inspired: Veggies, Tinned Tomatoes and Italian Seasoning

 

Mexican Inspired: Chilli, Beans and Rice

 

Indian Inspired: Veggies, Lentils, Potatoes and Curry Powder

 

Moroccan Inspired: Butternut, Sweet Potatoes, Carrots, Chickpeas and Lentils with Harrissa Paste, Paprika and Cumin

 

Are you feeling inspired?! Please leave your comments below and check out Without-Cruelty on Instagram for more foodie fun!

 

 

2 thoughts on “My Stew Appreciation Post

  1. All of these stews look delicious! I can’t wait for fall, since I expect to be eating a LOT of stews, especially spicy ones! πŸ™‚ I’m glad you are enjoying fruit and veg again because they are just delicious! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

