Cooking · Food · Free · Fruit and Veg · Homemade · Recipes · Travel · Vegan · Vegan Food · Vegetarian · Vegetarian Food

Hand Picked Blackberry Crumble

Some of you may have noticed already, but please let me bring this to your attention: Its Blackberry Season!! There are blackberries everywhere and I cannot walk past a bush these days without hunting for berries. The other day I was out doing my (now usual) 5km walk when I was momentary stunned by the abundance of fruit that is currently available. The entire bush was full of berries, purple ones, red ones and ones that had fallen on the floor and were turning my white converse a deep shade of magenta. I raced home, told Kerry all about this wonderful ambrosia, we grabbed our trusty Tupperware and raced back out, faces beaming with sheer delight!

We spent about 2 hours gathering blackberries and it was so much fun. Yes, we encountered lots of bugs, nettles and strange looks, but we didn’t care. We were happy. And we were even happier with our decision to make a fruity crumble with our hoard. If you would like to do the same, find your nearest blackberry bush and start picking! Alternatively just head down to Tesco and pick up a punnet…. The recipe is below.

What You’ll Need

(Serves 6)

450g Blackberries (Washed Thoroughly!!)

2 Nectarines

A Tablespoon of Brown Sugar

A Tablespoon of Dairy Free Butter

A Packet of Co-Ops Crumble Mix (it’s Vegan & Only Costs 49p)

What You’ll Need to do

Pre-heat your oven to 200 degrees. Peel and cube your nectarines and place into a mixing bowl along with your washed blackberries. Sprinkle on the sugar, this will reduce the bitterness of the berries, and mix well.

Place the fruity mixture in to an oven proof dish, pop on 4 blobs of ‘butter’ one in each quarter and top with the crumble mix. (I opted for store bought crumble mix as I am currently researching how expensive it is to be vegan and this was the cheapest option I found. I rarely use flour so buying a bag would have been a bit extravagant of me! But feel free to make your own if you like!)

Bake in the oven for 30 minutes, keeping your eye on it from about 20 minutes in.

Serve with custard, cream, or like in my case Soya Alpro Vanilla Flavoured Desserts!

If you have any comments please leave them below and for more yummy recipes and food pics please check out Without Cruelty on Instagram

2 thoughts on “Hand Picked Blackberry Crumble

    1. Hey! Thank you for your comment! It was such a fun afternoon and boy, the crumble was delicious. There are still so many blackberries around, I might go picking again some time this week 😊🍇xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.