About Me · Cooking · Diet · Food · Food for Life · Fruit and Veg · Health Food · Homemade · Recipes · Vegan · Vegan Food · Vegetarian Food · Weight Loss

Virtually Fat Free Vegan Nachos 

I haven’t posted in a little while, I’m so sorry guys!! I’ve been incredibly busy focusing on my new business, trying to get stuff done and maintain my current weight, that’s a lot for a girl to take!

So along with my attempts to become the next online Fair Trade sensation, I have been experimenting with food in an effort to maintain my weight. For those of you who are new to my blog, here’s some background:

I went on a low carb vegan diet in order to loose the stone that I gained while backpacking with my boyfriend.  It took a month to loose 7 pounds (half a stone) and another month or so to hit my target weight. The trouble was maintaining my target. Continuing on low carb meant still loosing weight and eating normally meant gaining weight. It was a bit tricky! As I said, I started experimenting and I have found the best way to maintain not gain (haha) is on a low fat, high carb plan (ironically!) So that’s what I’ve been doing since the end of June.

And it’s been really fun! I’m eating all the carbs, yay for bread and really enjoying meal prep! The other day my ‘beloved’ boyfriend suggested we had nachos for dinner…. a quick calorie calculation told me no! But then Mrs Logical made an appearance and said Hell Yes! Use potatoes as your base and you’re winning! And that’s exactly what I did.

I replaced the tortillas with thinly sliced potato rounds, boiled them for 20 minutes, and prepared my nachos in the usual way; Chilli, vegan cheese, jalepinos and baked in the oven for 20 minutes. And boy was I happy!

I was able to indulge in a classic dish and not worry about the fat content in the slightest! I really was on to a winner!

If you have any fat free alternatives to fat heavy dishes I’d love to hear them, please comment below! And check out Without_Cruelty on Instagram for more foodie inspo ✌❤

2 thoughts on “Virtually Fat Free Vegan Nachos 

Leave a Reply

